Reading Important Books By Women: Chapter One

sonia sotomayor

This idea of being intentional when selecting books was intuitive before it was a conscious decision. It started near January of this year and swelled right before the wedding: I found myself choosing books specifically by women. Some of the books that I’ve read this year that I fall into the criteria I’ve selected moving forward (books by women and/or books that will help me become a strong leader and professional) include:

Memoirs/Biography

  • She Matters: A Life in Friendships- Susanna Sonnenberg (***)
  • Drinking: A Love Story–  Caroline Knapp (*****)
  • I Feel Bad About My Neck– Nora Ephron (*****)
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks- Rebecca Skloot (*****)
  • My Beloved World- Sonia Sotomayor (*****)
  • Let’s Pretend this Never Happened (*****)
  • I Am Malala– Malala Yousafzai (****)
  • Flappers: 6 Women of a Dangerous Generation– Judith Mackrell (****)
  • My Year with Eleanor– Noelle Hancock (*****)
  • Everything is Perfect When You’re A Liar– Kelly Oxford (*****)
  • Orange is the New Black– Piper Kerman (****)
  • Save the Date- Jen Doll (****)
  • I Don’t Know What You Know Me From: Confessions of a Co-Star– Judy Greer (*)
  • Her Best-Kept Secret– Gabrielle Glaser (***)

Fiction

  • Americanah- Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche (*****)
  • Oranges are Not the Only Fruit– Jeanette Winterson (****)
  • The Possibilities- Kaui Hart Hemmings (*****)
  • The Longings of Wayward Girls– Karen Brown (**)
  • A Circle of Wives– Alice LaPlante (****)
  • Frog Music– Emma Donoghue (**)
  • Not Without You: Harriet Evans (**)
  • Turn of Mind- Alice LaPlante (*****)
  • The  One & Only– Emily Giffin (****)
  • Heartburn– Nora Ephron (*****)
  • Instructions for a Heat Wave– Maggie O’Farrell (*****)

Business

  • Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office- Lois P. Frankel (****)
  • Executive Presence: What No One Ever Told You About Getting Ahead– Sylvia Ann Hewlett (***)
  • How to be Successful at Sponsorship Sales- Sylvia Allen (***)
  • Thanks for the Feedback– Sheila Heen & Douglas Stone (*****)

Mystery/Thriller

  • The Girl with All the Gifts– M.R. Carey (*****)
  • Sister– Rosamund Lupton (*****)
  • Ripper- Isabel Allende (****)
  • The Boy in the Suitcase– Lene Kaaberbol (****)
  • The Weight of Blood- Laura McHugh (****)
  • Invisible Murder- Lene Kaaberbol (****)
  • Death of a Nightengale– Lene Kaaberbol (****)
  • Into the Darkest Corner- Elizabeth Haynes (****)
  • Elizabeth is Missing– Emma Healey (***)
  • The Fever– Megan Abbot (*)
  • Cartwheel by Jennifer DuBois (*****)

Star ratings are out of 5 possible stars. Decision is based on a) writing style b) ability to entertain/inform c) that intuitive & difficult to articulate post-book feeling

So where should I go from here? I’m looking for books that do some combination of the following: inform me, entertain me, stretch me, expose me to ideas & cultures & perspectives that are new to me, make me an overall better human being, make me laugh so hard I pee my pants a little. And, of course, written by women. Recommendations, please!

Currently reading:

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton (running audiobook)

The Runner’s World Big Book of Marathon and Half Marathon Training by Jennifer Van Allen , Bart Yasso, and Amby Burfoot

About theslipperyreader

When I was ten, I was grounded for reading and riding my bike at the same time. I know what you're thinking. The answer is "Boxcar Children".
This entry was posted in books, musings, women and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

