Books: Monday Micro Reviews

Good morning and happy Monday! Welcome to the inaugural edition of Monday Micro Reviews.

Little reviews? What’s the deal with that?

Okay, so I love discussing and recommending new books. However, I don’t always have the time (or inclination) to write a lengthy review of each book I read.

So every Monday, I will post “micro reviews” of each book I’ve finished that week. Based on a 5 star system, I will rate each of the books based on multiple criteria. Let me know your thoughts! Do you agree? Disagree?

Monday Micro Reviews for Monday, August 18, 2014

On Beauty by Zadie Smith
Writing style (word choice, use of literary devices): *****
Plot: ****
Entertainment value:***
My gut impression: **
Review: I love Zadie Smith’s word choice and use of humor. Unfortunately, I found the main character repulsive and boring- would have loved the POV to have been with the female characters. Also, the story seemed to meander without ever really going anywhere. Lots of build up followed by vague non-conclusions.

Afterward by Rosamund Lupton
Writing style: ****
Plot: *****
Entertainment value: *****
My gut impression: ****
Review: A strange and interesting mystery with entertainment value. Reader must be ready to suspend disbelief to follow the premise of the story.

Let’s Pretend it Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
Writing style: ***
Plot: ****
Entertainment value: *****
My gut impression: ****
Review: Fascinating stories from Lawson’s life. Written a little silly at times but overall an important, hilarious book for anyone who’s ever felt a little odd or different.

What about you? How did you feel about the books listed above? What books have you read in the last week?

Currently reading:
Dare: Straight Talk on Confidence, Courage & Career from Women in Charge by Becky Blalock
Mistakes I made at Work: 25 Influential Women Reflect on What They Got Out of Getting it Wrong by Jessica Bacal
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
Human Remains by Elizabeth Haynes

About theslipperyreader

When I was ten, I was grounded for reading and riding my bike at the same time. I know what you're thinking. The answer is "Boxcar Children".
This entry was posted in musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

