An important article: 12 things white people can do now because Ferguson

Like millions of other people around the world, I am devastated by the killing of unarmed teen Michael Brown by a Ferguson police officer. I grew up in St. Louis and I love my hometown, but there is no doubt that there are stark changes that need to made: systemic, policy, interpersonal, and attitudinal.

12 things white people can do now because Ferguson by Janee Woods is one of the best articles I’ve read over the last couple of weeks.

Because, when it comes to the fundamental wrongness of this situation, it doesn’t matter what kind of a kid Michael Brown was. Regardless of whether or not he was going to college or whether or not he was involved in a shoplifting incident, he- like countless other black teens and men- was viewed as having a higher potential for violence based on the color of his skin. He was a human being deserving of dignity and life the same as everybody else.

Tell me: Have you come across any articles regarding Michael Brown and Ferguson that have expanded your perspective or helped you acknowledge things of which you were previously unaware?

About theslipperyreader

When I was ten, I was grounded for reading and riding my bike at the same time. I know what you're thinking. The answer is "Boxcar Children".
This entry was posted in musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

