Books: Monday Micro Reviews

Mistakes_I_Made_at_Work_cover

Every Monday, I post “micro reviews” of each book I’ve finished that week. Based on a 5 star system, I will rate each of the books based on multiple criteria. Let me know your thoughts! Do you agree? Disagree?

Monday Micro Reviews for Monday, August 25, 2014:

Mistakes I Made at Work 5 Influential Women Reflect On What They Got Out of Getting it Wrong by Jessica Bacal
Format: ****
Content: ***
Entertainment value:***
My gut impression: ***
Review: It was a great idea and some of the information was helpful. However, I was disappointed. The book didn’t live up to its potential. There was no real substance and few concrete take aways. Nothing made a lasting impression.

Human Remains by Elizabeth Haynes
Writing style (word choice, use of literary devices): **
Plot: *
Entertainment value:**
My gut impression: **
Review: Nothing was particularly interesting about this book. The characters were not likeable or well formed. The plot was dismal. I definitely do not recommend it.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Writing style (word choice, use of literary devices): ****
Plot: *****
Entertainment value:*****
My gut impression: *****
Review: I’m a sucker for Liane Moriarty and this book was no exception. It was light, fun and clever. Did I learn anything or walk away a changed woman? No. Did it do an amazing job of entertaining me and helping me unwind during a mind numbingly stressful week? Absolutely.

Runner’s World Big Book of Marathon and Half Marathon Training by Jennifer Van Allen, Bart Yasson, and Amby Burfoot

Format: *****
Content: *****
Entertainment value:****
My gut impression: *****
Review: The authors of this book collected helpful information with practical takeaways. I now feel like I have a solid grasp on injury prevention, training methods, nutritional tips, and runners’ stories to be more confident as I train for races.

Currently Reading:

Dare: Straight Talk on Confidence, Courage and Career for Women in Charge by Becky Blalock

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis

About theslipperyreader

When I was ten, I was grounded for reading and riding my bike at the same time. I know what you're thinking. The answer is "Boxcar Children".
This entry was posted in books, leadership, professional goals, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

